SHEPWAY DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes for the meeting of the Council held at the Council Chamber - Civic Centre Folkestone on Wednesday, 17 January 2018

Present: Councillors Mrs Ann Berry, Miss Susan Carey, John Collier, Malcolm Dearden, Peter Gane, David Godfrey, Miss Susie Govett, Ms Janet Holben, Mrs Jennifer Hollingsbee, Mrs Claire Jeffrey, Mrs Mary Lawes, Len Laws, Rory Love, Michael Lyons (Vice-Chair), Philip Martin, Frank McKenna, Ian Meyers, David Monk, David Owen (Chairman), Dick Pascoe, Stuart Peall, Carol Sacre, Russell Tillson, Mrs Susan Wallace, Mrs Rodica Wheeler and Roger Wilkins

Apologies for Absence: Councillors Alan Ewart-James, Clive Goddard and Damon Robinson.

Councillor Peall had also given his apologies for the meeting, but arrived during the consideration of the item relating to the proposal to change the name of the district.

74. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest at the meeting.

75. Proposal to change the name of the district

Report A/17/17 set out a proposal to change the name of the district from "Shepway to "Folkestone and Hythe".

Proposed by Councillor Monk, Seconded by Councillor Mrs Hollingsbee; and

- 1. To receive and note report A/17/17
- 2. Pursuant to Section 74 Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) to change the name of the district from "Shepway" to "Folkestone and Hythe" from 1 April 2018.

Proposed by Councillor Mrs Lawes, Seconded by Councillor McKenna;

That the item be considered "in Committee" in accordance with Council procedure rule 15.14, and that for the duration of this meeting the following rules be suspended:

Procedure rule 15.14.1 (the right of a councillor seconding a motion to reserve their speech until later in the debate);

- Rule 15.4 (limit on length of speeches);
- Rule 15.5 (curtailment of councillors' right to speak more than once);
- Rule 22.1 (requirement to stand while speaking).

(Voting figures: 5 in favour, 20 against, 0 abstentions).

Council - 17 January 2018

Upon being put this motion was LOST

Amendment to recommendation 2

Proposed by Councillor Wilkins, Seconded by Councillor Miss Govett;

t 2. Pursuant to Section 74 Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) to change the name of the district from "Shepway" to "Folkestone, Hythe and Romney Marsh".

(Voting figures: 6 in favour, 16 against, 3 abstentions).

Upon being put this motion was **LOST**

Amendment to recommendation 2

Proposed by Councillor Meyers, Seconded by Councillor Mrs Lawes;

2. To defer consideration of the report to allow consultation with parish and town councils.

(At this point in the meeting, Councillor Peall entered the meeting).

(Voting figures: 5 in favour, 20 against, 1 abstentions).

Upon being put this motion was **LOST**. The amendment was therefore **defeated**.

The substantive motion was then put, and

RESOLVED:

- 3. To receive and note report A/17/17
- 4. Pursuant to Section 74 Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) to change the name of the district from "Shepway" to "Folkestone and Hythe" from 1 April 2018.

Upon five members demanding a recorded vote names were taken voting for, against or abstaining as follows:

FOR: Councillors Mrs Berry, Miss Carey, Collier, Dearden, Gane, Godfrey, Mrs Holben, Mrs Hollingsbee, Mrs Jeffrey, Lyons, Martin, Monk, Owen, Pascoe, Peall, Tillson, Mrs Wallace and Mrs Wheeler (18).

AGAINST: Councillors Miss Govett, Mrs Lawes and McKenna (3).

ABSTENTIONS: Councillors Laws, Love, Meyers, Mrs Sacre and Wilkins (5).

(Voting figures: 18 in favour, 3 against, 5 abstentions).

Note Section 74 (1) Local Government Act 1972 requires a resolution to change the name of a district to be passed by not less than two-thirds of the members voting thereon the motion was therefore CARRIED